3 signs your Pastor doesn’t care about you…

image

Here are 3 signs that your pastor really doesn’t care about you or your future as a minstrel. Trust me I know….

1. Overbearing…

If your Pastor is always making sure you are coming to every Bible study, Prayer service, outside engagement, Sunday morning and don’t forget every night of revival service; especially when there is so much money to be made at other services….your Pastor is overbearing.

Or, he could want you to grow in every aspect of your life and the only way to ensure that, is to be grounded in the word of God and prayer so he cares more about your growth in God that will sustain you forever than a quick check from the highest bidder that will sustain you for a month. But we’ll just call it overbearing…..

2. Jealous…

An opportunity to travel with an artist, whether gospel or secular, arises. This could be the big break you’ve been practicing and waiting for but your Pastor tells you it’s not your time. What? Anyone who could play for this artist can get picked up by anyone with that name on their resume; but you got a no? Oh and not only does your Pastor tell you no, but he says you are not ready to handle that lifestyle with integrity. Now this surely sounds like jealousy to me.

Or, he probably has prayed about your request and in his prayer time seen the lifestyle of a traveling musician and decided he would rather hold you back until your character can keep you grounded in the place your gift takes you than to take the chance of giving you want you want and letting you forget your foundation when the fame comes and you begin to drift away into a life of self-exaltation and have to be brought down to nothing. But we’ll stick with Jealous.

3. Lastly, he thinks he’s my Dad…

This is where it gets too much. If your Pastor is constantly correcting you about being late, teaching about praying outside of Church, how to treat others, speaking clearly, paying tithes and offering, submitting to leadership and just a whole bunch of other principles you “so called” need for your future endeavors; yeah that’s a bit too much isn’t it?

Or, he has a responsibility as your spiritual covering to give you everything you need for life and godliness. As your spiritual covering he prays daily when you only praying occasionally for your protection from the fiery darts of the enemy aimed at your mind. He has the ability to see your future, know what it takes and guide you in the right direction. But we will just call him controlling.

If your Pastor portrays any of these characteristics, you have an amazing man of God. Don’t trash with rebellion what many others would treasure with respect because your future success depends on your obedience to those who have rule over you. You can either be another musician who came, got a check and survived; or you can be a son who gained an inheritance. Pray for your Pastor.

Lets grow together! For comments, topic suggestions, prayer request or booking information for seminars and clinics:
Email: elijahcall@outlook.com

  

3 thoughts on “3 signs your Pastor doesn’t care about you…

  1. This was a great article first off. Now, this generation has some of the most amazing talent I’ve ever seen. The problem is that this generation does not see the revelation behind what it means to be “covered.” So consequently, most of these cats are running around playing but have no pastor not to mention a covering. Because of the fact that they don’t belong to a church, they don’t pay tithes or give offerings. That’s pretty much going around cursed while playing. I have a wonderful pastor that cares about everything I do and I make sure it’s my business to tell him everywhere I go so I can get his blessing and prayer. We have forgotten what order is and we are missing the true blessing. Great Article Deacon Johnson!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I try not to obsess over the glaringly obvious lack of acceptance by my pastor and his wife. I’ve led worship for over 49 years and want to be part of my somewhat new church family, but when I’ve asked what hoops I need to jump through to simply play the piano, even background music at ladies’ luncheons etc., I’m rejected and told I must attend literally every Bible study and service for several months, and ongoing, I don’t like to drive at night anymore due to eye problems which the pastor knows are real…but I can’t even “play a few bars” for him. I’m best friends with one of his favorite parishioners, but that means nothing apparently. His son and daughter in law and a young man they brought in from another state to lead worship have the monopoly. The pastor’s wife always looks at me as if she dislikes me personally but I’ve never done anything controversial or annoying. They just won’t give me the slightest chance to use the gifts God has given me … I suspect nepotism and age-discrimination. I really want to leave this church, not because I’m pouting about not showing off my skills as a worship leader, but because I’m being treated as a pariah for reasons I’m not aware of. Should I just quietly leave and try to find another church where I feel I’m wanted, music or not?

    Like

    1. I’m sorry you are experiencing this at your Church. Your answer will definitely have to come through prayer but I can tell you from the tone of tour message this is really effecting your experience as a believer, I’m going to suggest you have a talk with your Pastor and express your grievances and if he cannot direct you in the right direction then I wouldn’t leave quietly but definitely make sure you leave in a way that doesn’t damage any relationships. I hope this gives some kind of guidance.

      Like

Leave a comment